In 1892 an etched stone tablet was discovered at the site by Myer. On the western end of the platform was a conical shaped mound with a flattened top, approximately 18 feet (5.5 m) to 20 feet (6.1 m) in height. Earl also described the principal mound ( Mound 2) inside the enclosure as being a compound structure consisting of a rectangular platform 600 feet (180 m) long by 200 feet (61 m) wide and 13 feet (4.0 m) to 15 feet (4.6 m) in height and aligned in an east-west direction. He described a low earthen embankment with raised earthen towers enclosing 16 acres (0.065 km2), the remnants of what is now known to have been a wooden palisade. Castalian Springs Historical Marker Gallatin-Hartsville Pike, TN 25 , Castalian Springs , TN , USA Latitude & Longitude: 36° 23' 39.208056" , -86° 18' 58.97214" There is a short offshoot on the trail that leads to remnants of an old springhouse. Another 2 properties were once listed but have been removed. Cragfont State Historic Site, Castalian Springs, Tennessee. The latitude and longitude information provided in this table was derived originally from the National Register Information System, which has been found to be fairly accurate for about 99% of listings. Since then several others have been found, including one believed to have been dug from the platform section of the main mound and several from one of the associated village areas. Read More. Built by the Wynne family and their enslaved workers, it remains the largest early log structure in Tennessee. of Historic Castalian Springs well preserved piece of history from first settlements in the area--when Bledsoe's lock nka Castalian Springs, Tennessee was the WESTERN FRONTIER. The tablet was the second of only six such tablets that have been found in the Central Tennessee area. Outside of the palisade to southwest on the banks of Lick Creek was a stone mound (Mound 4) 60 feet (18 m) in diameter and 5.5 feet (1.7 m), similar examples of which have been found at the Beasley Mounds and Sellars Indian Mound sites.  The site was first noted in the early 1820s by Ralph E.W. As of the 2010 census, its population was 556. of Historic Castalian Springs Once called the "Grandeur on the Frontier," Cragfont was built around 1798 -1802. available in partnership with Appalachia CARES/AmeriCorps. 2.  It was occupied from 1100 to 1450 CE, with the main occupation dating to 1200-1325 CE. This is intended to be a complete list of the properties and districts on the National Register of Historic Places in Sumner County, Tennessee, United States. The Castalian Springs site is the largest of four Mississippian mound centers on the eastern edge of the Nashville basin, located on a flood terrace of a tributary creek of the Cumberland River. The iconography is very similar to depictions of the falcon dancer found on Mississippian copper plates excavated from locations across the Midwest and Southeast.  Myer discovered several artifacts containing S.E.C.C. and Long Hollow Pike, 4 mi. Read More. Although the design is often shown with the figure upright, holes drilled in the edge of the gorget for its suspension as a neck ornament show it was meant to be seen with the figure oriented sideways, although it is as yet unclear what this may signify. Wynnewood, also known as Castalian Springs, is a historic estate in Castalian Springs, Sumner County, Tennessee. This artifact is one of a very few Cox style motifs utilized on a material other than marine shell. See more. Ring of Fire Trail Discover some of Middle Tennessee’s most unique experiences and rich history — from settlers and Civil War soldiers to … Find your dream home in Castalian Springs … A National Historic Landmark and the largest 19th century log structure in Tennessee, Wynnewood State Historic Site sits as a rare example of the early tourism and hospitality industry. History. Castalian Springs is an unincorporated community and census-designated place (CDP) in Sumner County, Tennessee, United States. In the early 19th century, it was known locally as Bledsoe's Lick, and was the location of Bledsoe's Station, a fortified trading post. THC acquired the c. 1806 structure in 2007. Each property tells a unique story holding rich history in 18th century, Middle Tennessee. ‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties, Zieglers Fort Rd., approximately 2.5 miles (4.0 km) south of. Known locally as the "Cave of the Skulls" (40SU126), this small cave was explored by Myer at sometime during one of his three excavation of the site. , The State of Tennessee purchased the site in 2005, and modern excavations were instituted by the Middle Tennessee State University. Ready for a Made In TN Road Trip? The 9 inches (23 cm) by 12 inches (30 cm) limestone tablet is engraved with symbolic imagery associated with the S.E.C.C., specifically the upper torso of a human figure ceremonially dressed as a raptorial bird with a sun symbol on its chest. (615) 452-5463; 2923 Hartsville Pike Castalian Springs Tennessee; Connect A hiking path passes the historic cemetery and loops around the edge of the park. In the past month, 5 homes have been sold in Castalian Springs. There are 37 properties and districts listed on the National Register in the county, including 1 National Historic Landmark. Wynnewood, Hawthorn Hill (with it's Opry connection), and Cragfont are all State Historic Sites … Long Hollow Pike at Lower Station Camp Creek Rd. Purpose of Position Engage visitors with mission-based, interpreter led tours of the historic house museums. Historic Castalian Springs | 1798 historic home Cragfont & the 1828 mineral springs resort & largest 19th century log structure in the U.S. - Wynnewood Hawthorn Hill of Historic Castalian Springs, TN. The area has its own United States post office, designated by the Zip code 37031. Various colorings, defined, The eight-digit number below each date is the number assigned to each location in the, National Register of Historic Places listings in Davidson County, Tennessee, List of National Historic Landmarks in Tennessee, National Register of Historic Places listings in Tennessee, "National Register of Historic Places: Weekly List Actions", U.S. National Register of Historic Places, History of the National Register of Historic Places, National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=National_Register_of_Historic_Places_listings_in_Sumner_County,_Tennessee&oldid=971052806, Lists of National Register of Historic Places in Tennessee by county, Articles using NRISref without a reference number, Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License, Formerly a National Historic Landmark (note: home still exists), House burned to the ground due to lightning strike, This page was last edited on 3 August 2020, at 22:19. Dr. Kevin E. Smith conducted an archaeological dig school at the village site from 2005 through 2011.