Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. We are not vegan or gluten free so I have 2 questions: While I know my baking abilities are limited, and I’m happy to admit that. It can be more drying than the GF flours! Potato starch (along with the other GF flours) is ultimately what gives this cake its fluffy texture! And the result? Any suggestions? This looks amazing! Thanks! Your recipes always look superb! Do you know what changes I would need to make for these to cook evenly? I am a certified plant-based chef, I graduated through Rouxbe in 2017. Let us show you how it’s done! I only had to bake it for about 35 minutes, as well, which surprised me because my oven usually takes longer (I live in high elevation). Best when fresh. Thanks so much and Merry Christmas from Latvia! Incredibly comforting cheesy broccoli hash brown bake with a vegan cheese sauce! But it’s delicious enjoyed with coffee :D. I needed a sweet treat and this coffee cake was right on the money. Bake slightly longer for crispier edges. So yummy !!! For the potato starch sub, I’d use 1/2 cup arrowroot and 1/2 cup coconut flour, stir it in and then see if you need the remaining 1/4 cup arrowroot (since coconut flour can be quite absorbent). Thank you! Can I add up the amounts of different flours and sub the same amount of AP flour? Our version is not traditional but is our inspired, plant-based, gluten-free take on this sweet, cinnamon-infused treat. I had no almond flour but used gluten free flour. Delicious way to start our Christmas Morning! That should work! I haven’t tried this with gluten at all. I subbed half of the potato starch and all of the arrowroot starch for rye flour, and I used almond meal, not flour, baked at 190C – the cake turned out lovely for this Christmas Eve. Yes, an egg should sub well for the applesauce. And this Vegan Bruschetta is one of my go-to appies when friends come to visit. Dana Shultz founded the Minimalist Baker blog in 2012 to share her passion for simple cookin